Order on Sivasankar's bail plea today

1 min read
Read later

M Sivasankar | Photo: Mathrubhumi

Kochi: Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate (Economic Offences) Court will pronounce its order on the bail application of M Sivasankar, former Principal Secretary of the Kerala CMO in the dollar smuggling case today. The court is expected to pronounce the order around 11 am.

Opposing the bail plea, Customs contended, "Sivasankar's influence posed the danger of intimidation of witnesses, as he was stationed at Thiruvananthapuram. The dubious conduct of the petitioner extended beyond the borders of the country, where too he appeared to command tremendous influence."

Sivasankar had been granted bail by the Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate's Court on Monday in the Kerala Gold Smuggling Case.

He, however, remained in prison because the case registered against him by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) regarding the dollar smuggling case is still ongoing. The dollar smuggling came to light during the investigation of the Kerala gold smuggling case, which is currently being probed by the National Investigation Agency (NIA), the Enforcement Directorate (ED), and the Customs department.

The matter, which pertains to the smuggling of gold in the state through diplomatic channels, had come to light after 30 kg gold worth Rs 14.82 crores smuggled in a consignment camouflaged as diplomatic baggage was busted by the Customs in Thiruvananthapuram on July 5, 2020.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

Government office

1 min

Around 11,800 govt employees in Kerala to retire today

May 31, 2023

K K Abraham

1 min

Pulpally bank fraud case: Congress leader taken into custody over farmer's suicide

May 31, 2023


1 min

LDF, UDF share 9 seats each in local body by-elections; BJP reduced to one seat

May 31, 2023