Kannur dominates among Malayali parlamentarians

1 min read
Read later

V Muraleedharan, KC Venugopal and V Sivadasan | Mathrubhumi Archives

Kozhikode: Kannur district now has six MPs in the parliament. Four Malayalis in the Rajya Sabha are from Kannur- John Brittas, V Sivadasan, V Muraleedharan and KC Venugopal.

However, Muraleedharan represents Maharashtra and Venugopal represents Rajasthan in the Rajya Sabha. Though Venugopal was a Lok Sabha MP from Alappuzha constituency, he was born in Payyannur.

CPI has decided to field P Santhosh Kumar in the new RS seat allotted for them. He is presently the CPI Kannur district secretary.

K Sudhakaran represents the Kannur constituency in Lok Sabha.

Now all eyes are on CPM and Congress as the parties have started discussions for their candidates in the elections. Names of leaders from Kannur are doing rounds in the discussions. Voting for three vacant seats in RS will be held on March 30. CPM, CPI and Congress can send one each to the upper house.

The state has nine members in the Upper House and 20 in Lok Sabha.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.