Anxious wait continues as KPCC office-bearers' list may be delayed

Though the party functionaries claim that the list of KPCC office bearers will be released on Sunday, in all likelihood, it may delay further.

VD Satheesan, K Sudhakaran | Photo: Mathrubhumi

New Delhi: Though the party functionaries claim that the list of KPCC office-bearers will be released on Sunday, in all likelihood, it may be delayed further. The leaders could not arrive at a consensus over the criteria for the selection.

AICC general secretary Tariq Anwar claimed that the list will be inclusive of women, members from SC and ST communities.

Meanwhile, Congress leaders across Kerala are waiting anxiously for the new list of office-bearers. The new KPCC committee is expected to have 51 members, down from 100 during the previous terms. As a result, many leaders are anxious to find out who will be left out in the new list.

The party high command has already sprung three surprises, which have given heartbreaks to veterans like Oommen Chandy and Ramesh Chennithala, who after several years of fighting against each other have now joined hands to fight the common 'enemy' - the high command which is now calling the shots.

The high command sprang the first surprise when it announced V D Satheesan as the Leader of Opposition, a post earlier held by Chennithala. Then came the second blow when K Sudhakaran was appointed as the new state unit chief.

Then came the decisive blow when 14 district party presidents were chosen, leaving both Chandy and Chennithala fuming.

Former party president and veteran leader V.M. Sudheeran created a flutter when he quit the powerful Political Affairs Committee and also quit as an AICC member, expressing disgust in the manner in which Sudhakaran and Satheesan were functioning.

Sudhakaran told the media that the list is more or less ready and the final rounds of discussions are going on.

"It should be ready soon and I expect to get it finalised later in the day. An official announcement will be made on Sunday," said Sudhakaran.

AICC General Secretary in-charge of Kerala, Tariq Anwar, is the man engaged in fire fighting to passify disgruntled leaders like Chandy, Chennithala and Sudheeran, who all have their own handpicked men whom they want in the new team to be led by Sudhakaran.

Since the size of the new team is going to be around 50, the number of disgruntled leaders is likely to increase as more leaders are likely to be left out.

(With inputs from IANS)

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.