Internal Complaints Committee constituted for Malayalam film industry

Representational Image | Photo:

Kochi: An Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) was constituted for the Malayalam film industry under the directive of the Kerala Film Chamber. The committee will oversee the working of the ICC cells that will be formed to ensure the safety of women on movie locations.

The committee includes 27 members from various organisations, including Association of Malayalam Movie Artists (AMMA), Kerala Film Chamber, Film Employees Federation of Kerala (FEFKA), Malayalam Cine Technicians Association (MACTA), Women in Cinema Collective (WCC), Film Exhibitors United Organisation of Kerala (FEOUK), Kerala Film Producers Association (KFPA), and All Kerala Distributors Association (AKDA). The advisory body of the committee presided over by the president of the Film Chamber will have two advocates.

Devi Chandana, Baburaj, Suresh Krishna from AMMA, Sajitha Madathil, Divya Gopinath, Jolly Chirayath from WCC, and President G Suresh Kumar, BR Jacob, VC Appachan from Film Chamber are part of the committee.

On March 2022, the Kerala High Court ordered that the film crews in the state must have an internal complaints committee to address the sexual harassment complaints. The order was issued over a plea submitted by the Women in Cinema Collective.

Meanwhile, the AMMA has dismantled its ICC that was constituted in March after three of the four-member committee resigned. The resignation was followed by non-compliance of the organisation with the recommendation the ICC made in the case of sexual harassment complaint against actor-producer Vijay Babu.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.