Lapses in election campaign; CPM initiates action against leaders in Ernakulam

1 min read
Read later

Photo: Mathrubhumi

Ernakulam: The CPM has initiated action against several party leaders in Ernakulam in connection with the lapses in the assembly election campaign. The action was taken after the party conducted an analysis of the defeat in Thrippunithura, Thrikkakkara, Piravom and Perumbavoor constituencies.

C K Manisankar was removed from district secretariat of the party in connection with defeat in Thrikkakkara seat. C M Sundaran was removed from the district committee and all elected posts over M Swaraj’s failure in Thrippunithura.

The party also warned district secretariat member M C Mohanan as the candidate of the LDF ally lost the Perumbavoor seat. Meanwhile, Koothattukulam Shaju Jacob was removed from the post of area secretary and from the district committee with regard to the party’s defeat in Piravom seat.

The party had appointed a two-member commission to examine the lapses in the assembly election. On the basis of their report, the party served show cause notice to 12 leaders. Action was initiated after the explanation was received.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.


1 min

Milad Un-Nabi on September 28; public holiday declared

Sep 25, 2023


1 min

Narrow escape for Kottayam girl as bullet pierces window amid police training session

Sep 24, 2023


1 min

Low pressure in Bay of Bengal: Chance of heavy rain

Sep 25, 2023