Cars of most of the ministers in Kerala passed expiry period


Thiruvananthapuram: It has come to light that the vehicles used by 17 ministers in the state have expired and are beyond their service period as per the security protocol in place. Besides two cars, all others are more than five years old and have covered a distance of 1 lakh. The information about the cars came out after the vehicle used by finance minister B Balagopal met with an accident.

According to the protocol, the vehicle should be changed when it covers a total distance of 1 lakh kilometres or completes three years. Currently, only Chief Minister has a new car.

Tourism ministry is tasked to provide cars to the minsiters. However, they were unable to buy new cars due to financial constriants, leaving them with no other choice other than to let ministers continue using cars beyond its expiry period.

However, this protocol was adopted during a time when the ministers were using Ambassador cars. Currently, the ministers are using Toyota Innova Cresta models bought in 2017.

The car used by Chief Minister was bought using the police fund. It was recommended that he should use a black car due to security issues. The cars used by ministers Muhammed Riyaz and K Radhakrishnan were bought in 2019. Meantime, minister V Abdurahman uses his personal car for official purposes. During the tenure of the second Pinarayi Vijayan ministry, no new cars were bought by the state.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.