Kerala ward-level bypolls: LDF 17, UDF 13, BJP 1

Thiruvananthapuram: The results of by-elections to local body wards across Kerala show LDF secured 17 seats, UDF 13 seats while BJP got one seat at a ward in the first tribal panchayat of the state, Edamalakkudy.

Interestingly, UDF retained Irinjalakuda Municipality while LDF retained Piravam Municipality.

Gandhi Nagar ward, the crucial seat under Kochi Corporation, was retained by LDF’s Bindhu Shivan with a margin of 687 votes. The death of CPM candidate led to the by-election there.

In Kottayam’s Kanakkari panchayat, LDF retained power by bagging the sitting seat of Congress with a margin of 338 votes.

In Kozhikode’s Valliyodu ward under Unnikulam panchayat, UDF won by draw system earlier. Now, UDF retained the seat with Muslim League candidate securing 530 votes.

Results from many wards are awaited.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.