Bharat Jodo Yatra: 8 Keralites including Chandy Oommen to accompany Rahul Gandhi

Rahul Gandhi | Photo: PTI

Thiruvananthapuram: A total of eight Congress leaders from Kerala will join Rahul Gandhi in his Bharat Jodo Yatra which commences on September 7.

Chandy Oommen, Youth Congress state secretary Manjukuttan, KSU general secretary Nabeel Noushad, Mahila Congress Vice President Fathima, Sheeba Ramachandran, KT Benny, Seva Dal former president MA Salam and Geetha Ramakrishnan are the eight Kerala who were selected as permanent members of Bharat Jodo Yatra. A total of 118 permanent members will travel from Kanyakumari to Kashmir with Rahul Gandhi.

Bharat Jodo Yatra will commence from Kanyakumari on September 7 at 5 pm. The Congress leaders will walk throughout the 3,500-km stretch from Kanyakumari to Kashmir as part of the Bharat Jodo Yatra. A total of 12 states will be covered in the foot march.

Prior to the Bharat Jodo Yatra, Rahul Gandhi will visit the Rajiv Gandhi memorial at Sriperumbudur in Tamil Nadu on September 7.

The Gandhi scion will be visiting the place for the first time where his father and the country's former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi was assassinated in 1991.

At 3 p.m., Rahul Gandhi will visit Vivekananda Rock Memorial, and also Thiruvalluvar Memorial and Kamaraj memorial.

At 4 p.m. in the evening, an all-religion prayer will be conducted at Gandhi Mandapam at Kanyakumari where Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M. K. Stalin will hand over the Tricolour to the Wayanad MP. All the leaders will then walk to the meeting venue at the nearby Gandhi Mandapam.

The meeting will be held at 5 p.m. from where an official announcement of the launch of the yatra will be made.

On September 8, the padyatra (foot march) will start from Vivekananda Institute at 7 a.m. and will continue for three hours. It will resume at 3.30 p.m. the same day and continue till 6.30 p.m. Everyday, the yatra will cover 21 km.

The yatra will reach Kerala on September 11 and will continue there for 18 days before reaching Karnataka on September 30. The yatra will continue in Karnataka for 21 days.

In the yatra, the Tricolour will be seen instead of the Congress flag.

The Congress claimed that the padyatra is aimed eliminating hatred.

According to Congress sources, since the launch of the Bharat Jodo website, around 37,000 people have registered on it. The Congress is planning to add them as volunteer yatris in the Bharat Jodo Yatra.

The volunteer yatris have been categorised into 'Bharat Yatri' , 'Athiti Yatri' and 'Pradesh Yatri'.

(With inputs from IANS)

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.