LIVE: Mamata takes a massive lead in Bhabanipur bypoll

1 min read
Read later

The counting of votes for the West Bengal bypolls is underway in Kolkata and it began at 8 am on Sunday amid heavy security deployment.

Mamata Banerjee | Photo:PTI

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has clocked a comfortable lead in the Bhabanipur bypoll on Sunday morning. BJP's Priyanka Tibrewal trails at second position, as per the Election Commission. CPM remains at a distant third.

TMC is leading in other two constituencies -Jangipur and Samserganj- as well.

Total 21 rounds of counting will be held in Bhabanipur. Voting in the seat in south Kolkata was held on September 30. Banerjee has to win this election to retain her chief minister's post.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.