Telangana Rashtra Samithi turns into Bharat Rashtra Samithi, KCR makes entry to national politics

2 min read
Read later

K. Chandrashekar Rao I ANI

Hyderabad: The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) has changed its name to Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), paving the way for Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao's entry into national politics.

The decision was taken at the general body meeting of the TRS held at its headquarters Telangana Bhavan here on Wednesday.

The meeting presided over by KCR unanimously passed a resolution. As the clock struck 1.19 p.m., auspicious time set for the occasion, he announced the launch of the national party.

Amid loud cheers by the participants at the meeting, KCR read out the resolution. He said the general body meeting unanimously resolved to change the name of TRS to BRS to expand its activities nation-wide.

The party also communicated the change in the name of the party and amendment to the party constitution to the Election Commission of India.

In a letter addressed to the Election Commission of India, TRS general secretary communicated that the general body meeting passed a resolution to change the name of the party from Telangana Rashtra Samithi to Bharat Rashtra Samithi. "To that effect, necessary amendments to the party Constitution have also made in the same meeting," reads the letter.

The participants hailed the announcement with slogans 'Desh ka netha KCR' and 'BRS Zindabad' and 'KCR Long live'.

Former Karnataka chief minister and Janata Dal (S) leader H. D. Kumaraswamy, president of Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) Tholkappiyan Thirumavalavan and other leaders of the two parties, who attended the meeting, greeted KCR.

A total of 283 delegates including ministers, MPs, MLAs, MLCs, party executive committee members, Zilla Parishad chairpersons, district party presidents and chairpersons of corporations attended the meeting.

It was in 2001 that KCR had floated TRS to revive the movement for separate statehood to Telangana. After achieving the goal in 2014 following a 13-year-long struggle, he formed the first government in the new state and retained power in 2018.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

MS Swaminathan | Photo: Mathrubhumi

1 min

MS Swaminathan, Father of India's Green Revolution, passes away

Sep 28, 2023

Manipur Students' Union demonstration against manipur violence

1 min

Manipur: Committee formed to probe 'excessive use' of force on protesters by police

Sep 28, 2023

Mallikarjun Kharge

3 min

Women's reservation a BJP ‘jumla', says Kharge; bats for OBC quota within it, seeks caste census

Sep 28, 2023