Ruling BJP set to secure 2nd consecutive poll win in U'khand, Dhami trails, Rawat loses in Lalkuwa

1 min read
Read later

Pushkar Singh Dhami . Photo:ANI (Photo: ANI)

Dehradun: Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami and Congress leader Harish Rawat, who led the campaigns of their respective parties in the assembly polls, were trailing on their respective seats on Thursday.

The ruling BJP looked all set to secure a second consecutive term in office in Uttarakhand leading in 46 out of the total 70 seats, according to latest trends.

While Dhami was trailing behind Congress's Bhuvan Chandra Kapri in Khatima by 2,287 votes. Veteran Congress Leader Harish Rawat lost the polls. Rawat was trailing behind BJP's Mohan Singh Bisht by 24,308 votes.

It will be clear later in the afternoon on what ultimately happens on these two seats.

However, if the trends are an indication of the outcome, then it is going to be difficult for both the parties to choose the next chief minister as Rawat and Dhami were billed to be the leading probables for the top office.

The Congress had not declared Rawat as its chief ministerial candidate. Dhami on other hand was almost the BJP's chief ministerial candidate as the party was seeking a full five-year-term for the "young and dynamic" leader to deliver on the party's grand vision for Uttarakhand's development.

However, the BJP appears on way to making history by winning two successive assembly elections in the state as it had never happened in its 21-year history. PTI

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

modi, trudeau

1 min

India temporarily suspends visa services for Canadians until further notice

Sep 21, 2023

Justin Trudeau

3 min

Canada rejects India's travel advisory amid escalating diplomatic row; calls for calm

Sep 21, 2023

Rajya Sabha

2 min

Cutting across party lines, Rajya Sabha MPs support women's reservation bill

Sep 21, 2023