Polling begins across 70 Assembly seats in Uttarakhand

1 min read
Read later

Photo: ANI

Dehradun: Polling began across 70 Assembly constituencies in Uttarakhand at 8 am on Monday.

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) is seeking to retain power in the hill state while Congress is hoping for a comeback. Both the Congress and the BJP have battled political instability in the state in the last two decades after it was carved out of Uttar Pradesh in 2000 during former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee's tenure.

The BJP's task is a twin -- beat the anti-incumbency and also the electoral trend of the incumbent government voted out in the state. Uttarakhand, incidentally, has seen 11 Chief Ministers in the last two decades.

As per the set norms, the campaigning for the elections in these states ended on Saturday (February 12) at 6 pm.

The BJP has pitted fielded 11 cabinet Ministers and the state unit president Madan Kaushik. Incumbent Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami is contesting for the third time from the Khatima Assembly seat and is facing Congress nominee Bhuwan Chandra Kapri.

Losing the last three elections on a streak, Congress veteran Harish Rawat is now contesting from a new assembly seat this time. He is in the electoral contest from Lalkuwa.

The new entrant into Uttarakhand politics, Aam Aadmi Party has fielded candidates on all 70 Assembly seats, with its Chief Ministerial face being Ajay Kothiyal.

Voting also began in Goa and parts of Uttar Pradesh going to elections in the second phase on Monday at 7 am. The counting of votes will take place on March 10. (ANI)

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

US Secretary of State Antony Blinken (R) and Indian Foreign Minister Subrahmanyam Jaishankar speak to the press before talks in the Treaty Room of the State Department in Washington, DC | Photo: AFP

3 min

EAM Jaishankar, US Secretary Blinken discuss global developments amid India-Canada diplomatic row

Sep 29, 2023

MS Swaminathan | Photo: Mathrubhumi

1 min

MS Swaminathan, Father of India's Green Revolution, passes away

Sep 28, 2023

MS Swaminathan | Photo: Mathrubhumi

4 min

MS Swaminathan, the genius who sowed it right

Sep 28, 2023