Newly elected Cong MLAs authorise party chief Kharge to pick Karnataka CM

1 min read
Read later

Karnataka Congress president DK Shivakumar along with Leader of Opposition (LoP) and former state Chief Minister, Siddaramaiah and others at the Congress Legislative party (CLP) meeting, in Bengaluru on Sunday | Photo: ANI

Bengaluru: Newly elected Congress MLAs in Karnataka on Sunday authorised party president Mallikarjun Kharge to pick the next chief minister, party sources said.

The Congress Legislature Party, which met at a private hotel here Sunday evening, passed a unanimous resolution authorising the party chief to pick its leader.

Earlier, the Congress central observers, along with AICC General Secretary (Organisation) K C Venugopal held a meeting with Leader of Opposition in the outgoing Assembly Siddaramaiah and Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president D K Shivakumar.

Congress president Kharge had deputed former Maharashtra chief minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, AICC general secretary Jitendra Singh and former AICC general secretary Deepak Babaria as observers for the election of the CLP leader.

Congress scored a thumping win in the May 10 Assembly polls as it secured 135 seats out of 224, while the BJP bagged only 66.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

File photo of BJP Lok Sabha MP Ramesh Bidhuri in Lok Sabha

2 min

Lok Sabha speaker warns BJP's Ramesh Bidhuri of strict action over remarks in House

Sep 22, 2023

modi, trudeau

5 min

Surveillance of Indian diplomats in Canada led to allegations around Sikh killing: official  

Sep 22, 2023


2 min

India-Canada row: Cong calls for 'intensive diplomatic engagement' to resolve crisis

Sep 22, 2023