MLAs, MPs need not be present to welcome President in airport

Aneesh Jacob

The reason for bringing a change to this was not mentioned in the instruction.

File Photo- President Ram Nath Kovind being welcomed to Kerala by CM Pinarayi Vijayan

Thiruvananthapuram: MLAs and MPs need not be present at the airports to welcome the President on his visit. The Rashtrapathi Bhavan has released a list of those who are eligible to be present for welcoming and seeing off the President.

Earlier, the respective MLA and MP from the region had permission to go to the airport tarmac and welcome the President.

The new arrangement will be implemented from January. The President’s Deputy Military Secretary instructed the state Chief Secretaries regarding the same. MLAs and MPs are usually placed next to the Mayor, as per protocol.

The protocol used to provide a lot of importance to MLAs and MPs in all programs attended by the Prime Minister and the President. Changes have been brought to the ‘Blue Book’ that dictates the protocol to VIPs but the reason for bringing the change was not mentioned.

New List


Chief Minister/ Minister in Waiting

Central Ministers and State Ministers


Chief Secretary

Governor’s advisor (if region is under President’s rule)

Protocol department Head

Senior Officer of Military Department

( If it is the President’s first visit, senior officers from the 3 services of the Indian Army)

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.