Delhi cabinet notified; Arvind Kejriwal without any department

2 min read
Read later

While Cabinet Ministers Manish Sisodia and Satyendar Jain are having eight departments each, the Chief Minister has kept himself away from any Department now.

Arvind Kejriwal (Photo: Sabu Scaria)

New Delhi: The General Administration Department of the National Capital Territory has notified the portfolios allocations to the Cabinet Ministers on Tuesday.

While Cabinet Ministers Manish Sisodia and Satyendar Jain are having eight departments each, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has kept himself away from any Department now.

The notification, published on Tuesday, said in the exercise of powers conferred under Rule 3 of the Government of the National Capital Territory of Delhi (Allocation of Business) Rules 1993, "the Lt Governor of the National Capital Territory of Delhi, in consultation with the Chief Minister", has allocated the departments to the ministers of Delhi.

The portfolios of Ministers, according to the notification, says Manish Sisodia will be responsible for Education, Finance, Planning, Land and Building, Vigilance, Services, Tourism, Art, Culture and Language, and all other departments not specifically allotted to any minister.

Sisodia was heading the Women and Child Development in the last term, however, this time it has been given to Rajendra Pal Gautam, who was already heading Gurudwara Elections, SC and ST, Social Welfare and Cooperative Departments.

The Water Department, which was with Kejriwal in the last term, has been given to Jain in the new term. Jain is now responsible for eight departments, one up from the last term.

Health, Industries, Public Works Department, Power, Home, Urban Development and Irrigation and Flood Control Departments were with Jain in the last term and he continues to deal with them.

Environment and Forest Department, which was with Kailash Gahlot in the last term has been given to Gopal Rai.

Now, while Gahlot is responsible for Law, Justice and Legislative Affairs, Transport, Administrative Reforms, Information & Technology and Revenue, Rai is having Employment, Development, Labour, General Administration Department, Environment, Forest and Wild Life.

Imran Hussain continues to have Food and Supply and Election Departments.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.