Manipur Elections Live Updates: BJP ahead in 27 seats, CM N Biren Singh leading by over 16K votes

1 min read
Read later

Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh / File photo: ANI

Imphal: The BJP is ahead in 27 seats in Manipur, with Chief Minister N Biren Singh leading by a handsome margin of more than 16,000 votes against his nearest Congress rival in Heingang constituency.

The Congress, which had emerged as the single-largest party, winning 28 seats in the 2017 assembly elections, is currently leading in just three seats, including the Thoubal constituency, where former chief minister O Ibobi Singh is ahead of his BJP rival by 1,225 votes.

The National People's Party is leading in six seats, while the Naga People's Front is ahead in five seats.

The Republican Party of India (Aathawale), Kuki People's Alliance and Independents led in one constituency each, according to EC data.

Counting of votes for 60 assembly seats in Manipur began at 8 am on Thursday under tight security and strict adherence to COVID-19 protocols, officials said.

Trends were available for 41 constituencies so far.

(With PTI Inputs)

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

Amnesty international

1 min

India using anti-money laundering rules to 'silence critics': Amnesty

Sep 27, 2023

vande bharat

3 min

Address passengers' complaints of hygiene, food availability in Vande Bharat trains: Railway Board

Sep 22, 2023

Ashwini Vaishnaw

3 min

We plan to introduce Vande Metro by December this year: Railways Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw

Apr 14, 2023