Adityanath takes oath as Uttar Pradesh CM; Maurya, Pathak to be deputy CMs

1 min read
Read later

Prime Minister Narendra Modi with BJP leader Yogi Adityanath and Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel greets during the swearing-in ceremony, at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Friday | Photo: ANI

Lucknow: Yogi Adityanath on Friday took oath as Uttar Pradesh chief minister for the second term in a mega ceremony attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and top BJP leaders.

Keshav Prasad Maurya and Brajesh Pathak were also sworn in as deputy chief ministers.

Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath to Adityanath in a ceremony also attended by Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and BJP national president J P Nadda.

Adityanath was unanimously elected the BJP legislature party leader in UP on Thursday, after which he staked claim to form the government.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Stadium, the venue having the capacity to accommodate 50,000 people.

The BJP-led alliance had won 273 of 403 seats in the just-concluded Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls. While the BJP got 255 seats, its allies Nishad Party and the Apna Dal (S) bagged 18.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

six workers electrocuted

1 min

Six railway workers electrocuted while erecting pole in Jharkhand

May 30, 2023

vande bharat

2 min

'Missed target': Railways' plan of running 75 Vande Bharat trains by Aug 2024 likely to be affected

May 30, 2023

manish sisodia

1 min

HC denies bail to Manish Sisodia in Delhi excise policy scam

May 30, 2023