181 votes cast against 90 valid voters in Assam booth, 6 suspended

1 min read
Read later

Voters queue up to cast their votes at a polling station, during the third and final phase of Assam Assembly election | Photo: PTI

Guwahati: At least six polling personnel were suspended in Assam's Dima Hasao district after it was found that a booth with 90 valid voters registered 181 votes during the second phase of polls on April 1, officials said on Tuesday.

Election officials said that repolling would be held at the auxiliary polling station -- 107-A Khothlir L.P. School - under the Haflong Assembly constituency in Dima Hasao district.

Assam Chief Electoral Officer Nitin Khade said that as per the valid electoral roll, there are only 90 electors against the polling station but 181 people had cast their votes at the polling station on April 1.

"During the scrutiny of the Presiding Officer's diary and other documents, it was found that the Presiding Officer and the Polling Officers of 107-A Khothlir L.P. School have allowed 181 persons to cast their votes against the total 90 voters," the CEO said.

Khade in a statement said that taking note of the lapse, the District Election Officer has suspended the Sector Officer, the Presiding Officer and three other polling officers and a Booth Level Officer of the polling station for dereliction of duty.

"The Returning Officer through the District Election Officer has recommended re-poll at the polling station.

"The Auxiliary Polling Station No. 107-A, has been created for the first time to facilitate the voters in the remote area, as the polling percentage in the last Parliamentary election was only 34 per cent," Khade added.


Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.


2 min

The ‘sengol’ controversy: Union government's claims not backed by evidence

May 27, 2023

niti aayog

2 min

8 CMs including Pinarayi Vijayan skip Niti Aayog meeting chaired by PM Modi

May 27, 2023


2 min

Court not an institution to sermonise society on morality, ethics: SC

May 27, 2023