Stars who entered electoral fray face mixed results

Mukesh, Ganesh Kumar, Suresh Gopi

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala witnessed a number of actors contesting the assembly polls this time. The star value of actors was the key factor behind their candidature. The political parties confidently fielded actors in different seats with an intention to gain support from the movie fans. However, the initial results show that the strategy of fielding actors did not work well. Many of the star candidates are trailing in their respective constituencies.

One of the constituencies where star cast made headlines was Thiruvananthapuram. NDA fielded actor Krishnakumar hoping to gain more votes. However, initial trends show that he is trailing and is in the third spot. LDF candidate Antony Raju is leading with a majority of 1150 votes while UDF candidate V S Sivakumar is in the second place.

Actor Mukesh who represented LDF in Kollam was another seat with a filmy twist. As per latest reports, he is leading by 2200 votes. NDA candidate M Sunil is in second place and UDF candidate Bind Krishna is in third spot.

K B Ganesh Kumar of LDF contested the polls from his sitting seat Pathanapuram. The actor proved his candidature was not wrong by gaining a lead of 14,674 votes. UDF’s Jyothikumar Chamakkala and NDA candidate Jithin Dev are trailing.

NDA fielded superstar Suresh Gopi in Thrissur expecting to win the seat with his stardom. He was defeated in the previous Lok Sabha polls. This time he gained lead in the initial time, but was pushed to third spot. LDF candidate P Balachandran is leading with 139 votes while UDF candidate Padmaja Venugopal in the second spot.

UDF fielded actor and comedian Dharmajan in Balussery seat. But the current trends show that he is in the third spot. LDF candidate Sachin Dev is leading with over 20,000 votes and NDA candidate Libin Bhaskar came second.

Veena S Nair, UDF candidate in Vattiyoorkkavu, was a popular face in the mini screen. She is in the second spot as per latest trends. LDF candidate V K Prashanth is leading with 10,000 votes.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.