India shines at Oscars 2023: RRR, The Elephant Whisperers win big

3 min read
Read later

Photo: AP, AFP

Los Angeles: It was truly a memorable day for India as it celebrated two big wins at the Oscars.

Team 'RRR' and 'The Elephant Whisperers' both won at the 95th Annual Academy Awards at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, California, making it a historic day for Indian filmmakers and the audience.

The Elephant Whisperers

Guneet Monga's 'The Elephant Whisperers', a documentary directed by Kartiki Gonsalves paved way for many to believe that India truly can take the centre stage globally. It won the Oscar in the 'Best Documentary Short Film' category against 'Haul Out,' 'How Do You Measure A Year?' 'The Martha Mitchell Effect,' and 'Stranger At The Gate'.

Kartiki Gonsalves, left, and Guneet Monga pose with the award for best documentary short film for 'The Elephant Whisperers' | Photo: AP

In her winning speech, Gonsalves said, "I stand here today to speak on the sacred bond between us and our natural world. For the respect of indigenous communities. For entity towards other living beings, we share our space with. And finally for co-existence. Thank you to the academy for recognizing our film highlighting indigenous people and animals. To Netflix for believing in the power of this film. To Guneet my Producer and my entire team and finally, to my mother father and sister who are up there somewhere, you're the centre of my universe. To my motherland India."

The film's plot revolves around a family who adopts two orphan baby elephants in Tamil Nadu's Mudumalai Tiger Reserve.

RRR's Naatu Naatu

Another victory that feels very personal to every Indian is that of 'Naatu Naatu'. The song that made millions groove to its beats was also performed on the Oscar stage by a power-packed singer duo Rahul Sipligunj and Kaala Bhairava. Later, the team lifted the trophy as the hall lit up with loud cheers and claps. The moment lyricist Chandrabose and composer MM Keeravani accepted the trophy will always be remembered as a revolutionary moment for Indian cinema.

Chandrabose and MM Keeravani accept the Best Original Song award for 'Naatu Naatu' from 'RRR' onstage during the 95th Annual Academy Awards | Photo: AFP

'Naatu Naatu' competed against 'Applause' from the film 'Tell It Like A Woman,' 'Hold My Hand' from the movie 'Top Gun: Maverick,' 'Lift me Up' from 'Black Panther: Wakanda Forever,' and 'This Is Life,' from 'Everything, Everywhere All At Once'.

Check out the full list of winners here:

1. Best Picture - Everything Everywhere All at Once (Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang)

2. Best Actor - Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

3. Best Actress - Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

4. Best Director - Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

5. Best Supporting Actor - Ke Huy Quan (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

6. Best Supporting Actress - Jamie Lee Curtis (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

7. Original Screenplay - Everything Everywhere All at Once (Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert)

8. Adapted Screenplay - Women Talking (Sarah Polley)

9. Best Editing - Everything Everywhere All at Once (Paul Rogers)

10. Original Score - All Quiet on the Western Front (Volker Bertelmann)

11. Original Song - Naatu Naatu by M.M. Keeravaani and Chandrabose (RRR)

12. Sound - Top Gun: Maverick (Mark Weingarten, James Mather, Al Nelson, Chris Burdon and Mark Taylor)

13. Cinematography - All Quiet on the Western Front (James Friend)

14. Animated Short - The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse (Charlie Mackesy and Matthew Freud)

15. Live-Action Short - An Irish Goodbye (Tom Berkeley and Ross White)

16. Visual Effects - Avatar: The Way of Water (Joe Letteri, Richard Baneham, Eric Saindon and Daniel Barrett)

17. Production Design - All Quiet on the Western Front (Christian M. Goldbeck and Ernestine Hipper)

18. International Feature - All Quiet on the Western Front from Germany (Edward Berger)

19. Documentary Feature - Navalny (Daniel Roher, Odessa Rae, Diane Becker, Melanie Miller and Shane Boris)

20. Documentary Short - The Elephant Whisperers (Kartiki Gonsalves and Guneet Monga)

21. Animated Feature - Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio

22. Costume Design - Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Ruth Carter)

23. Makeup and Hairstyling - The Whale (Adrien Morot, Judy Chin and Annemarie Bradley)

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

Prakash Raj, Siddharth, Shiva Rajkumar | Photo: Mathrubhumi, Instagram

2 min

Cauvery row: Actor Siddharth’s promo event disrupted; Prakash Raj, Shiva Rajkumar tender apology

Sep 30, 2023

Kannur Squad Mammootty film Review actor thanking audience and critics

1 min

Your feedbacks are filling our hearts: Mammootty thanks viewers for Kannur Squad’s success 

Sep 30, 2023

Actor Vishal

3 min

Vishal thanks I&B ministry for taking ‘immediate steps’ in censor board corruption row

Sep 30, 2023