TPShort story writing expert. He was born in 1931 at Pallikunnu in Kannur. He completed his education from Chirakkal Rajas High School, Mangalore Govt. Arts College and Madras Law College. His first story was published in 1948. His works have been published in Indian languages and foreign languages like English, French, German and Russian.

T. Padmanabhan has won Ezhuthachan Prize, Vallathol Award, Vayalar Award, Mathrubhumi Literary Award, Lalithambika Antharjanam Award, Muttathu Varkki Award, Padmarajan Award, Chanthu Menon Award, Kakkanadan Award, and C. V. Kunjiraman Award. He has also won the prize by Bharatiya Bhasha Parishad in 2015 for his contribution to Indian languages. He has not attempted writing novels and travelogues. Padmanabhan had rejected Kendra Sahithya Academy Award, Kerala Sahithya Academy Award and Odakkuzhal Award.