Poet Sugathakumari bags MVR Award

Thiruvananthapuram: Renowned poet Sugathakumari has been selected for this year's MVR Award instituted in memory of M V Raghavan, former minister and founder of Communist Marxist Party (CMP).

The award includes a cash prize of Rs 25,000 and a sculpture. Former chief minister Oommen Chandy will hand over the award to Sugathakumari at a ceremony to be held at her residence on Saturday, informed Trust chairman C P John and secretary M P Saju.

A poet, social worker and environmental activist, Sugathakumari is the recipient of many honours including Padma Shri, Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award, Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award, Odakkuzhal Award, Vayalar Award, Vallathol Award, Ezhuthachan Award, Mathrubhumi Literary Award among others.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.