Santhosh Echikkanam receives Ashitha Memorial Literary Award

The award comprises a cash prize of Rs 15,000, a memento and a citation.

Santhosh Echikkanam receiving the Ashitha Memorial Literary Award from writer Shihabuddin Poythumkadavu

Kozhikode: Writer Santhosh Echikkanam received the Ashitha Memorial Literary Award and Smitha Das received the award for best young writer from writer Shihabuddin Poythumkadavu. The award comprises a cash prize of Rs 15,000, a memento and a citation.

‘Ashitha was an honest writer,’ Shihabuddin Poythumkadavu said in his memorial speech at the function held in Alakapuri Auditorium here on Tuesday.

‘Ashitha wrote with honest language about her life experiences in an unexaggerated way. Her writings stemmed from spirituality. Actual spirituality is not bound by religion. It is something that enables you to love humans. Her writings could impart that sensation to her readers, so her stories will live on forever,’ he said. He also added that the writings of Santhosh Echikkanam and Smitha Das have the same quality.

Smitha Das receiving the Young author's award from writer Shihabuddin Poythumkadavu

Jury Chairman Dr M T Sasi presided over the function. The book ‘Shankupushpangal’ by Smitha Das was introduced by writer M Kunjappa. The function was organised by Indian Writers Forum.

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.