Thiruvananthapuram: Congress working committee member AK Antony, JD(U) state president MP Veerendrakumar and LDF candidate  K Somaprasad on Thursday filed their nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha polls. LDF candidate Somaprasad is the Kollam district secretariat member of CPM.

Veerendrakumar and AK Antony submitted the nominations to the assembly secretary after the UDF meeting. Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, KPCC President VM Sudheeran, Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala and UDF constituent leaders were present during the filing of the nominations. The elections are being held to the posts of AK Antony, KN Balagopal and TN Seema, whose tenure will get over in April.

 If there are only three candidates to the three vacant posts, then election will not be conducted. In the CPM-CPI discussion, it was decided to allow only one candidate to contest to the Rajya Sabha.

Election for the RS seats will be held on March 21. The last date for filing of nomination is March 11 and withdrawal on March 14.