Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award: Nominations by June 16 2022

Representational image | Photo: gettyimages.in

Department of Youth Affairs, Government of India, has invited nominations for the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award.

The objectives of the award are (i) to recognize the achievements of the person in the field of adventure (ii) to encourage young people to develop the spirit of endurance, risk-taking, cooperative teamwork, and quick, ready, and effective reflexes in challenging situations (iii) to provide incentives to the young people for getting exposed to the adventure activities.

Eligibility: Applicant should have excellent performance and outstanding qualities of leadership, a sense of adventure discipline and have continuous achievement in one particular field of adventure such as Land, Air or Water (Sea).

Decoration: Winners will get Bronze statuette, a certificate, a blazer with a silken tie/a saree and an award money of Rs. 15 Lakhs.

No. of Awards: Awards will be given in four categories namely, Land Adventure, Water (Sea) Adventure, Air Adventure and Life Time Achievement for adventure activities on Land, Sea and Air.

Nominations: Those applying for the award may get their applications recommended by the Youth/Sports Department of the State Government concerned, or a recognized adventure institute like Indian Mountaineering Foundation for Land Adventure, National Institute of Water Sports for Water (Sea) Adventure, and Aero Club of India for Air Adventure or by the Adventure Promotion Cell of the Army/Navy/Air Force or Indo-Tibetan Border Police or similar other para- military forces. All nominations in respect of serving personnel of Army/Navy/Air Force should be recommended by their respective Adventure Cell/Directorate. The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports can also nominate any person on its own or seek nominations from such other organisations/agencies as are deemed fit, for this award.

The last date for receipt of nominations is 16th June, 2022.

Selection Process: The procedure for selection is given at https://awards.gov.in/

Ceremony Details: The Award is usually conferred on 29th August at Rashtrapati Bhawan by the Hon'ble President of India.

For details, visit https://awards.gov.in/

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.