SFI retains Calicut University union winning all general seats

Representative Image | Photo: Arun Krishnankutty/ Mathrubhumi

Thenhipalam: Students’ Federation of India (SFI) won the election for university union of Calicut varsity by securing five general seats. T Sneha, student of MA Women Studies, has been elected as the chairperson with a majority of nine votes.

UDSF, the alliance of MSF and KSU, demanded a recount when the results of the first two seats came up. They alleged that many of their councillors were threatened and not allowed to cast votes.

T Sneha, SR Aswin, VM Sruthi, TA Mohammed Ashraf, MD Ajay

On Wednesday noon, the Kerala High Court ordered to count the votes of 25 UUCs of self financing colleges also, who voted with the special permission of the court. The final results were released after counting these votes too.

UDSF secured one seat (Malappuram) at the five-member executive committee.

General seatsWinners (All SFI)
Vice ChairmanSR Aswin (Mercy College of Teacher Education, Kozhikode)
Female Vice ChairmanVM Sruthi (Pazhassi Raja College,Pulpally)
General SecretaryTA Mohammed Ashraf (Sree Vyasa NSS College, Wadakkanchery)
Joint SecretaryMD Ajay (VTB College, Sreekrishnapuram)

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.