Dr KA Aysha Swapna appointed first woman principal of Farook College, Kozhikode

1 min read
Read later

Farook College; Dr KA Aysha Swapna

Ramanattukara: Creating history at Farook College (Autonomous), Dr KA Aysha Swapna was appointed as the first female principal on Wednesday. Dr. Swapna, an associate professor in the English department, assumed the role following the retirement of KM Nazir.

Joining Farooq College as a teacher in the English Department in 2008, Dr. Ayesha Swapna has been an integral part of the institution. Currently, she also serves as the Coordinator of the Internal Quality Assurance Cell. She holds a master's degree in English literature and BEd from Mahatma Gandhi University, along with a PhD from Calicut University. She is known for her exceptional organisational and oratory skills. She has contributed significantly to academia, publishing numerous research papers in national and international journals.

Founded on August 12, 1948, Farook College admitted its first female student in 1957. Today, three out of four students are female, with a notable increase in the number of girls pursuing higher education each year.

Dr. Ayesha Swapna is the daughter of Amanullah and Fatima. Her husband, PK Maqbool, serves as the principal of JDT Arts and Science College. They have two children, Adnan (Engineer) and Afreen (Architect).

Add Comment
Related Topics

Get daily updates from Mathrubhumi.com

Disclaimer: Kindly avoid objectionable, derogatory, unlawful and lewd comments, while responding to reports. Such comments are punishable under cyber laws. Please keep away from personal attacks. The opinions expressed here are the personal opinions of readers and not that of Mathrubhumi.

MBBS students

2 min

KEAM 2023: Stray vacancy filling Round 2 for BDS Course

Sep 29, 2023

Online class

2 min

3 lakh mothers in Kerala to get trained in cyber safety as part of Little KITEs IT Clubs

May 4, 2022


3 min

Record 91 Indian universities in Times world rankings, varsities from Kerala find place

Sep 27, 2023