New Delhi: The New Delhi-based Kusumanjali Foundation has announced the 5th Annual Kusumanjali Sahitya Samman winners for Hindi and Malayalam for the year 2016.

M.P. Veerendra Kumar

While Mathrubhumi Managing Director M.P. Veerendra Kumar has been selected to receive the Kusumanjali Sahitya Samman for Malayalam for his travelogue “Danube Sakshi”, Dr. Kusum Khemani will receive the Kusumanjali Sahitya Samman for Hindi for her novel “Lavanya Devi.”

The awards carries a cash prize of Rs 2.50 lakh each, citation, a shawl and statuette.

In a career spanning over six decades, Veerendra Kumar has been a dominating presence in the intellectual, cultural, social and political life of Kerala. He is the author of 21 volumes of works in Malayalam and recipient of several awards including that of the Sahitya Akademi and Kerala Sahitya Akademi. He served thrice as the Chairperson of PTI and was a former President of the INS.

The literary and social contributions of Dr.Kusum Khemani have played an important role in the growth of Hindi. She has published several volumes of novels, short stories, travelogue, criticism and literature for children. She has been secretary of Bharatiya Bhasha Parishad for 30 years and is also Editor of Vagarth, a noted Journal of Hindi.

Dr. Kusum Khemani
Dr. Kusum Khemani

The selection board for 2016 awards comprised eminent authors including Alok Mehta (Chairman), Dr. Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari, Mridula Garg, and Prof. Suresh Rituparna for Hindi and Dr. C. Radhakrishnan (Chairman), K. Jayakumar and Dr. M. Thomas Mathew for Malayalam.

The award-giving ceremony will be held on August 1 at the India International Centre (Auditorium) in New Delhi at 6 pm. Prof. Lokesh Chandra, President, Indian Council for Cultural Relations will present the awards.