Now, KSRTC turns into 3 independent zones

Thiruvananthapuram: The Kerala State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC) has been divided into three independent zones, namely south, central and north zones. The management has given self-administrative power to all zones.

The zonal heads will have complete freedom in deployment of employees, disciplinary action and coordination of operating, mechanical and personal departments.

Monthly inspections at units, redressal of passengers complaints, determination of income goals and assuring availability of spare parts are the other duties of the zonal head.

However, the zonal head is also obliged to reduce fuel consumption, increase mileage of tyre, reduce number of accidents, reduce break down, avoid bus services according to the reduction in number of passengers. He should take necessary action to check unfavourable action against KSRTC in RTA meetings.

The government aims to convert KSRTC as three individual profit centres. In the initial phase, KSRTC aims to earn monthly profit of Rs 30 crore and monthly profit of Rs 50 crore in second phase.

Presently, permission of chief office is needed to start service in new routes. But with the division of three zones, zonal head can approve new services.

KSRTC is divided into three as per the geography of the state. It is reported that more buses will be allotted to central and north zones in future.

Thiruvananthapuram zone which includes three districts has more buses. Buses will be purchased or hired for rent.

North zone that includes 6 districts has 945 buses and majority of it are long distance buses.

KSRTC has the monopoly over ordinary bus services in Thiruvananthapuram district. Meanwhile, KURTC that operate low floor AC and Non AC bus services, was also shifted to respective zones.

Southern zone includes Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam and Pathanamthitta districts. Thiruvananthapuram chief office will be the headquarters of the south zone. Alappuzha, Idukki, Kottayam, Ernakulam and Thrissur will make the central zone. North zone will include Palakkad, Malappuram, Kozhikode, Wayanad, Kannur and Kasargod districts.

KSRTC has been divided into three as per the recommendation of Prof. Susheel Khanna. Karnataka Road Transport Corporation is the role model for Kerala in this new mission. Though Karnataka was not successful in making profit out of the division, they operated the services with more social responsibility.

Related Stories