Malappuram: PK Kunhalikutty, the UDF candidate in the byelection to the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency, has filed the nomination papers before the Collector and Returning Officer Amit Meena.

Muslim league leaders Sadiq Ali Shihab Thangal, ET Muhammad Basheer and Congress leader Aryadan Mohammad accompanied Kunhalikutty when he arrived at the Collectorate to file the nomination papers. 

Kunhalikutty, who reached Panakkad on Monday morning, held discussions with Hyder Ali Shihab Thangal. Later, he prayed at the grave of Panakkad Muhammad Ali Shihab Thangal. He then visited the DCC office to meet Congress leaders of the district before leaving for the collectorate. 

The election campaign of UDF will begin officially with the start of the UDF election convention at 3 pm.

Former chief minister Oommen Chandy, opposition leader Ramesh Chennithala and UDF convenor PP Thankachan will participate in the convention.