Thiruvananthapuram: Brothers K M Damodaran and K M Rajan from Kannur have won the Krishibhumi Award of Mathrubhumi News.

The award was announced by Agriculture Minister V S Sunil Kumar. The winners were elected from six finalists through online voting and marks awarded by an expert panel. K M Damodaran and K M Rajan secured 21.74 percent votes.

Both of them are into farming for the last 50 years and have been raising various crops including paddy, sugarcane, plantain and vegetables.

The award comprises a purse of Rs 1 lakh and citation.

Aravindan (Palakkad), Carmel Jyothi Special School (Idukki), Subhakesan (Alappuzha), Ayoob Thottoli (Wayanad) and Govindankutty Warrier were the other finalists.